Nepal Disabled Women Association Accomplished 9th Convention and 18th General Assembly

AGM Picture

A group picture of newly elected NDWA Board Members.

Nepal Disabled Women Association successfully accomplished 9th convention and 18th general assembly. Ms. Niramal Dhital elected as a President through that convention. Ms. Kamala Budhathoki elected as a Vice President, Ms. Meena Paudel elected as a General Secretary, Ms. Anita Ghimire elected as a Treasure and Ms. Laxmi Devkota, Ms. Maiya Lamsal, Ms. Shobha BK elected as Members through that convention.  The NDWA decided that two Members will be nominated as per the rule of the constitution of the organization.

Mayor of Kathmandu Metro Municipality, Mr. Biddha Sundar Shakya inaugurated the 9th Convention and 18th General Assembly. Mayor Mr. Shakya said, Kathmandu Metro Municipality will be allocated budget from the programs for Person with Disabilities. Also, he had commitment that the disability friendly public vehicle ‘Sajha bus’ will be added more soon.

Ms. Nirmala Dhital, President of NDWA presented a presentation on the achievements, challenges and best practice of NDWA among the participants in the inaugural session. Similarly, Chief Guest Mr. Sakya, immidate past Parliamentarian member of CPN UML Ms. Madhu Gurung and President of NFDN, Mr. Sudarsan Subedi collectively lunched a yearly report of NDWA.

Due to their memorable contribution towards NDWA the Founder Members of NDWA have been honored by the Chief Guest along with other Guests during the inaugural session. Ms. Rama Dhakal, Founder President, Ms. Tika Dahal, Founder Vice President, Ms. Indira Chapagain, Founder General Secretary, Ms. Bhumikala Paudel, Founder Treasure, Founder Members Ms. Meena Paudel, Kalimaya Baniya and Sarala Tandukar honored during the inaugural session. Some of the staffs of NDWA honored due to their long contribution and hard work, such as: Eastern Coordinator, Ms. Bhima Khatiwada, Far Western Coordinator, Ms. Anita Dhungana, Finance Officer, Ms. Maya Thapa, Office Assistant, Kunta Shrestha, Hostel Incharge, Muna (Push Maya) Rai.

Guest Ms. Madhu Gurung, Ex Parliamentarian of CPN UML, Mr. Ganesh Paudel, Under Secretary of Department of Inclusive Education, Activists Dr. Renu Adhikari and Ms. Lily Thapa, appreciated the contribution of NDWA towards the rights of Women with Disabilities and extended their best wishes and greetings to NDWA for its future endeavor. The Representatives of disabled people organizations Mr. Sudarshan Subedi, President of National Federation of Disabled Nepal, Mr. Mukunda Hari Dahal, President of PFPID, Mr. Balkrishna Gaire, General Secretary, Loktantrik Rastriy Apang Sangathan, Mr. Padam Mahar, Program Officer of CBM Nepal, Mr. Ramesh Pokharel, President of NAB, Mr. Gagadish Prasad Adhikari, General Secretary of DHRC, Ms. Tej Kumari Tiwari, President of NDS, Ms. Ganesh KC, President of ISL, Ms. Laxmi Devkota, NADH appreciated the contribution of NDWA and delivered their Greeting speech.

On behalf of NDWA Vice President Ms. Kamala Budhathoki extended her gratitude to all of the Guests, Founder Members of NDWA, Representatives of DPOs, staffs of NDWA, Media Persons and participants for their active participation.

The convention accomplished in second session of the program. The present board committee had decided to select an election committee with Advocate Mr. Mukund Dahal and Activist Ms. Laxmi Neupane. Election Committee with Coordinator Mr. Mukund Dahal and Officer Ms. Laxmi Neupane conducted fair election with democratic way. The election committee distributed certificate to the newly elected Board Members. The Master Ceremony of the program hosted by Ms. Meena Paudel, General Secretary of NDWA.